

OAKLAND ATHLETICS

Media Release

Oakland Athletics Baseball Company • 7000 Coliseum Way • Oakland, CA 94621 510-638-4900 • Public Relations Facsimile 510-562-1633 • www.oaklandathletics.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

November 16, 2009

Andrew Bailey Named 2009 AL Rookie of the Year A's All-Star Closer Ends Storybook Season with League Honor

OAKLAND, Calif. - Andrew Bailey, the Oakland A's All-Star closer who posted a 6-3 record, 1.84 ERA and 26 saves this past season, has been named the 2009 American League Rookie of the Year by the Baseball Writers Association of America. Bailey, 25, becomes the third Athletics' rookie to win the award in the past six years and the eighth winner in franchise history.

A 2009 non-roster invitee at Spring Training, Bailey overcame sizeable odds to win the award. Entering this past season, he owned a combined 12-22 record with five teams over three minor league seasons, including a 5-9 mark and 4.32 ERA with Double-A Midland in 2008. However, he was successfully converted from starter to reliever during that 2008 season. Perhaps the last player to earn a spot on the Opening Day roster with Oakland, the 6-3, 243-pound Bailey quickly blossomed into one of the game's dominant closers this past season.

His 26 saves ranked sixth highest by a rookie in American League history and broke the Oakland rookie record, eclipsing Huston Street's 23 in 2005. Bailey's .167 opponent's batting average ranked first among all AL closers, while his 1.84 ERA rated third-best in the league among closers (behind only the Yankees' Phil Hughes and Mariano Rivera).

He converted 26 of 30 save opportunities, with his last blown save coming June 16 at Dodger Stadium. From that point forward, Bailey reeled off 21 straight saves, which tied for the second longest in streak in the American League and the third longest in the majors last season. It also was the second longest save streak in Oakland history (40 by Dennis Eckersley, 1991-92).

Bailey, a native of Voorhees, N.J. and Wagner College attendee, joins a rather lengthy list of A's players to win the AL Rookie of the Year award. Previous franchise winners include: **Harry Byrd**, **1952**; **Jose Canseco**, **1986**; **Mark McGwire**, **1987**; **Walt Weiss**, **1988**; **Ben Grieve**, **1998**; **Bobby Crosby**, **2004**; and **Huston Street**, **2005**.

####

#####