

Oakland Athletics

Media Release

Oakland Athletics Baseball Company • 7000 Coliseum Way • Oakland, CA 94621 510-638-4900 • Public Relations Facsimile 510-562-1633 • www.oaklandathletics.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

May 6, 2010

Landon Powell Named to NCAA College World Series Legends Team

A's Catcher Played on Three College World Series Teams at University of South Carolina

OAKLAND, Calif. – Current Oakland A's and former University of South Carolina catcher Landon Powell has been named to the NCAA College World Series Legends Team that will be honored at the 2010 College Baseball World Series in Omaha, Nebraska.

The Legends Team will represent those student-athletes who had the best College World Series performances in the 60 years the event has been played at Omaha's Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium. The 2010 College Baseball World Series will be the last played in Rosenblatt Stadium.

"I am extremely honored to be selected as a member of the College World Series Legends Team and proud to represent the University of South Carolina," said Powell. "I would like to thank the fans of both the Oakland A's and South Carolina Gamecocks who voted, as well as my former teammates and coaches, for without them I would not have been able to achieve this accomplishment."

Powell played in the College World Series three consecutive years (2002-04) and was named to the College World Series All-Tournament Team in 2002 and 2004. He had nine hits, six RBI and a home run as the Gamecocks finished as National Runner-Up in the 2002 College World Series. He was a two-time All-SEC selection at catcher (2003, 2004) and also earned All-America honors in 2004.

The 28 members of the Legends Team, pared down from an original list of 95 nominees, were selected after more than 100,000 votes were cast by college baseball fans, college baseball writers and Division I head baseball coaches. The utility players were determined by the oversight committee after the fan voting was completed. They represent those student-athletes who deserved recognition but did not garner enough votes at a particular position.

A committee of select individuals from the National Baseball Writers Association, the *Omaha World-Herald* and NCAA staff composed the original list of 95 nominees. This list included every former student-athlete who was voted onto a previous College World Series anniversary team (25th, 50th and all-decade teams), as well as individuals who played in the last 14 years.

The 28 College World Series Legends Team members will be invited to attend the final College World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium as guests of the NCAA. The members will be formally honored on-field during the Opening Ceremonies on June 18 and invited to attend the first day of competition on June 19.

-more-

The College World Series Legends Team by name and school follows:

Name Will Clark Dustin Ackley	Institution Mississippi State University University of North Carolina	Position 1B 1B	Year in College World Series 1985 2007-09
Bob Horner Todd Walker Spike Owen Nomar Garciaparra *Darwin Barney Sal Bando Robin Ventura *Pat Burrell Fred Lynn Dave Winfield	Arizona State University Louisiana State University University of Texas at Austin Georgia Institute of Technology Oregon State University Arizona State University Oklahoma State University University of Miami (Florida) University of Southern California University of Minnesota	2B 2B SS SS SS 3B 3B 3B OF	1976-78 1993-94 1981-82 1994 2005-07 1964-65 1986-87 1996-98 1971-73
Terry Francona Barry Bonds Mark Kotsay	University of Arizona Arizona State University California State University, Fullerton	OF OF OF	1979-80 1983-84 1994-95
J.D. Drew Steve Arlin Burt Hooton *Eddie Bane Huston Street Jason Windsor	Florida State University The Ohio State University University of Texas at Austin Arizona State University University of Texas at Austin California State University, Fullerton	OF P P P P	1995 1965-66 1969-70 1972-73 2002-04 2004
Landon Powell	University of South Carolina	С	2002-04
Ryan Garko Pete Incaviglia Brooks Kieschnick Skip Bertman	Stanford University Oklahoma State University University of Texas at Austin Louisiana State University	C DH DH Coach	2001-03 1983-85 1992-93 1986-87, 89-91, 93-94, 96-98, 2000
Rod Dedeaux	University of Southern California	Coach	1951, 55, 58, 60-61, 63-64, 66, 68, 70-74, 78
Augie Garrido	California State University, Fullerton / University of Texas at Austin	Coach	1975, 79, 82, 84, 92, 94-95 / 2000, 02-05, 09
*Utility Players			

#####

Contact: Kristy Fick, A's Player and Media Relations Manager (510) 563-2236; kfick@oaklandathletics.com