



Oakland Athletics Baseball Company • 7000 Coliseum Way • Oakland, CA 94621 510-638-4900 • Public Relations Facsimile 510-562-1633 • <u>www.oaklandathletics.com</u>

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

August 31, 2011

Legendary Oakland A's Announcer Bill King Again Among Leading Nominees for Ford C. Frick Award

Online Balloting Begins Tomorrow and Continues Through Sept. 30

OAKLAND, **Calif.** – No baseball broadcaster was more decisive—or distinctive—in the big moment than the Oakland A's late, great **Bill King**. Now, it's time for his legions of ardent supporters to be just as decisive in voting him into the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Starting tomorrow, fans of the legendary A's announcer can cast their online ballot for a man who is generally regarded as the greatest broadcaster in Bay Area history when the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum's Facebook site is activated for 2012 Ford C. Frick Award voting during the month of September.

King, who passed away at the age of 78 in 2005, was the leading national vote-getter in fan balloting for the Frick Award in both 2005 and 2006. Following his death, the A's permanently named their Coliseum broadcast facilities the "Bill King Broadcast Booth" after the team's revered former voice.

Online voting for fan selections for the award will begin at 7 a.m. PDT tomorrow, Sept. 1, at the Hall of Fame's Facebook site, <u>www.facebook.com/baseballhall</u>, and conclude at 2 p.m. PDT Sept. 30. The top three fan selections from votes tallied at the site during September will appear on the final 10-name ballot for the award. The 2012 Frick Award winner will be selected by a 20-member electorate, with the winner to be announced at baseball's Winter Meetings in Dallas Dec. 6.

There are 75 candidates listed on the ballot this year, as selected by the Hall of Fame, with two representing every current big league team and 15 at-large selections. **Ray Fosse**, the current dean of Bay Area broadcasters who is celebrating his 26th consecutive season as an A's TV and radio analyst, is also listed on the 2012 ballot.

King broadcasted A's games for 25 seasons, beginning with the "Billy Ball" teams of the early 1980's, continuing with the "Bash Brothers" era that saw the A's make three consecutive World Series appearances from 1988-90 and concluding with the Giambi and Big Three (Hudson, Mulder and Zito) years that reaped four consecutive playoff appearances from 2000-03 and is depicted in the soon-to-be-released *Moneyball* movie. Over the years, King called so many great moments in baseball history, ranging from **Rickey Henderson's** record-setting single season and career stolen bases, to **Kirk Gibson's** improbable World Series home run off **Dennis Eckersley**, to **Dave Stewart's** MVP performance in the 1989 World Series, to the A's record-breaking 20-game winning streak in 2002.

King's passion for painting a visual account of the action made his broadcasting style an art form. His trademark exclamatory phrase, "Holy Toledo," has been imitated and cherished by Bay Area sports fans for many decades.

Perhaps the most telling story about King's worthiness for the Hall of Fame was chronicled by long-time *Oakland Tribune* columnist **Carl Steward**, who in 2005 wrote: "King was in the audience two years ago at Cooperstown when his longtime broadcasting pal, **Lon Simmons**, received this lasting honor. Several times that weekend, Simmons noted that King would have been a more worthy selection than himself and urged King's prompt

King Among Leading Frick Award Candidates Add 1

nomination and receptions for the award. Time to second the motion...en masse."

Ken Korach, the current voice of A's baseball, offered even stronger praise: "Bill was the greatest sportscaster this country has ever produced. The depth of knowledge, the passion, the crisp description, the attention to detail, the command of the language—Bill was a master, like a Mozart or a Rembrandt behind a microphone."

Jon Miller, another former A's broadcaster who was named last year's Ford C. Frick Award winner for his many years of local and national baseball announcing, is another big fan of King's on-air wizardry.

"He's the **Tony Bennett** of broadcasters," said the former long-time ESPN announcer. "They say Tony Bennett is the entertainer's entertainer. Bill is the broadcaster's broadcaster."

Simmons, who has worked with Hall of Famers **Russ Hodges** and Miller during various Giants' seasons, concludes with these glowing words about his former A's broadcast partner:

"I've voted Bill No. 1 on every ballot I've had. When you think of play-by-play, you have to think of Bill King as one of the best there ever was. He certainly has all the qualifications."

Presented annually since 1978 for excellence in baseball broadcasting, the Ford C. Frick Award is given to an active or retired broadcaster with a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a team, network, or a combination of the two.

The voting electorate includes all living award-winners and five historians/veteran media members appointed by the Hall of Fame. The living award-winners include Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Milo Hamilton, Jaime Jarrin, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Jon Miller, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker, Dave Van Horne and Bob Wolff. The five historians and veteran media members are Bob Costas (NBC/MLB Network), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of New York Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

####