

## OAKLAND ATHLETICS

## Media Release

Oakland Athletics Baseball Company • 7000 Coliseum Way • Oakland, CA 94621 510-638-4900 • Public Relations Facsimile 510-562-1633 • www.oaklandathletics.com

## **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:**

October 7, 2013

## Josh Donaldson Named A's Nominee For 2013 Hank Aaron Award Fans Can Vote at MLB.com; Award Recognizes Most Outstanding Offensive Performers in Each League

**OAKLAND, Calif.** – Major League Baseball and MLB Advanced Media announced that Josh Donaldson was named the Oakland Athletics nominee for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award.

Fans can vote exclusively online at MLB.com and the 30 Club sites. For the fourth straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball and has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999.

Donaldson was the A's top offensive performer in 2013 as he batted .301 with 24 home runs and 93 RBI in 158 games. He became the eighth player in Oakland history to hit at least .300 with 20 or more home runs and 90 or more RBI, the first since Miguel Tejada in 2002. The 27-year-old ranked sixth in the American League in on-base percentage (.384), tied for sixth in times on base (256), tied for seventh in walks (76), ninth in slugging percentage (.499) and total bases (289) and 10<sup>th</sup> in RBI. Donaldson also tied for fourth in the AL with 56 multiple hit games, which was the third highest total in Oakland history and one short of the record of 57 (Tejada, 2002; Kotsay, 2004). In addition, he ranked third in the AL with a .364 batting average with runners on base, the fourth best batting average with runners on in Oakland history.

The Hall of Fame panel led by Aaron includes some of the greatest offensive players of all-time – Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount. These Hall of Famers, who combined for 15,581 hits, 6,902 RBI and 1,334 home runs, have all been personally selected by Hank Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League.

Through October 10, fans will have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2013 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2013 World Series.

"It is a great honor that Major League Baseball recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each League with an award in my name," said Hank Aaron. "The game is full of so many talented players today that I am thankful my fellow Hall of Famers and the fans assist in selecting the much deserving winners."

The finalists for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award are:

American League		National League	
Baltimore Orioles	Chris Davis	Arizona Diamondbacks	Paul Goldschmidt
Boston Red Sox	David Ortiz	Atlanta Braves	Freddie Freeman
Chicago White Sox	Alexei Ramirez	Chicago Cubs	Nate Schierholtz
Cleveland Indians	Jason Kipnis	Cincinnati Reds	Jay Bruce
Detroit Tigers	Miguel Cabrera	Colorado Rockies	Michael Cuddyer
Houston Astros	Jason Castro	Los Angeles Dodgers	Hanley Ramirez
Kansas City Royals	Eric Hosmer	Miami Marlins	Giancarlo Stanton
LA Angels of Anaheim	Mike Trout	Milwaukee Brewers	Carlos Gomez
Minnesota Twins	Joe Mauer	New York Mets	David Wright
New York Yankees	Robinson Cano	Philadelphia Phillies	Domonic Brown
Oakland Athletics	Josh Donaldson	Pittsburgh Pirates	Andrew McCutchen
Seattle Mariners	Kendrys Morales	St. Louis Cardinals	Matt Carpenter
Tampa Bay Rays	Evan Longoria	San Diego Padres	Will Venable
Texas Rangers	Adrian Beltre	San Francisco Giants	Hunter Pence
Toronto Blue Jays	Edwin Encarnacion	Washington Nationals	Jayson Werth

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012), Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011), Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.

# # # # #

Contact: Adam Loberstein, 510-563-2248 aloberstein@oaklandathletics.com