

OAKLAND ATHLETICS

Media Release

Oakland Athletics Baseball Company • 7000 Coliseum Way • Oakland, CA 94621 510-638-4900 • @athletics • www.athletics.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

September 23, 2014

Jed Lowrie to Receive Dave Stewart Community Service Award Wednesday A's legend Stewart to present award to Lowrie prior to 12:35 p.m. game against Angels

OAKLAND, Calif. – Oakland A's shortstop Jed Lowrie has been named the recipient of the 2014 Dave Stewart Community Service Award, which is given annually to an A's player in recognition of charitable contributions throughout Northern California and across the nation.

Stewart will present Lowrie with the award prior to Wednesday's 12:35 p.m. game against the Los Angeles Angels in a special on-field ceremony at approximately 12:23 p.m.

Lowrie, who is in his second season with the A's, is the founder of the A's **Jedi Warriors** program. As part of the program, Lowrie has hosted veterans and their families through the **Wounded Warrior Project** at various A's games this season. Lowrie and his wife, Milessa, purchased tickets and food for the families, and each person received a Jedi Warriors t-shirt jersey, designed be Lowrie. The A's shortstop will be honored with a pregame presentation Wednesday, Sept. 24, at approximately 12:23 p.m.

The Dave Stewart Community Service Award originated in 1996 in honor of Stewart's many years of community service in the Bay Area. Throughout the years, Stewart has been involved in many non-profit organizations including the Oakland Boys & Girls Club and Team-Up for Youth, a program that supports healthy development for young people living in low income communities through after-school sports and physical activity programs.

Previous Dave Stewart Community Service Award Winners:

1996 1997	Ernie Young Scott Spiezio	2006 2007	Mark Kotsay Mark Ellis
1998	Tom Candiotti	2008	Dana Eveland
1999	Art Howe	2009	Dallas Braden
2000	Jason Giambi		Kurt Suzuki
2001	Terrence Long	2010	Craig Breslow
2002	Tim Hudson	2011	Josh Willingham
2003	Scott Hatteberg	2012	Jonny Gomes
2004	Eric Chavez	2013	Sean Doolittle
2005	Barry Zito	2014	Jed Lowrie

#####

Contact: Zak Basch, Oakland Athletics 510-563-2236; zbasch@athletics.com