

OAKLAND ATHLETICS Media Release

Oakland Athletics Baseball Company • 7000 Coliseum Way • Oakland, CA 94621 510-638-4900 • www.athletics.com • A's PR on Twitter @AsMediaAlerts

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

September 23, 2015

Stephen Vogt to Receive Dave Stewart Community Service Award Stewart Will Present A's Catcher with Award Prior to the Game Thursday, Sept. 24

OAKLAND, Calif. – A's catcher Stephen Vogt has been named the recipient of the 2015 Dave Stewart Community Service Award, the team announced today.

The award is given annually to an A's player in recognition of charitable contributions throughout Northern California and across the nation. Stewart will present Vogt with the award prior to the game on Thursday, Sept. 24 at 12:23 p.m. in a special on-field ceremony.

Vogt, who was named last week as the A's nominee for the prestigious Roberto Clemente Award, is an active supporter of the School of Imagination in Dublin, Calif. He and his wife, Alyssa, have made multiple visits to the school this year to work with autistic and special-needs children. He has also hosted the school at O.co Coliseum various times, meeting with students on the field during batting practice and offering them tickets to A's games. In addition, Vogt has supported numerous other A's initiatives and programs, regularly meeting with fans at the ballpark and in the community.

The Dave Stewart Community Service Award originated in 1996 in honor of Stewart's many years of community service in the Bay Area. Throughout the years, Stewart has been involved in many non-profit organizations including the Oakland Boys & Girls Club and Team-Up for Youth, a program that supports healthy development for young people living in low income communities through after-school sports and physical activity programs.

Previous winners of the Dave Stewart Community Service Award include: Ernie Young (1996), Scott Spiezio (1997), Tom Candiotti (1998), Art Howe (1999), Jason Giambi (2000), Terrence Long (2001), Tim Hudson (2002), Scott Hatteberg (2003), Eric Chavez (2004), Barry Zito (2005), Mark Kotsay (2006), Mark Ellis (2007), Dana Eveland (2008), Dallas Braden and Kurt Suzuki (2009), Craig Breslow (2010), Josh Willingham (2011), Jonny Gomes (2012), Sean Doolittle (2013) and Jed Lowrie (2014).

#

Contact: Adam Loberstein, 510-563-2248 aloberstein@athletics.com