

OAKLAND ATHLETICS

Media Release

Oakland Athletics Baseball Company • 7000 Coliseum Way • Oakland, CA 94621 510-638-4900 • www.athletics.com • A's PR on Twitter @AsMediaAlerts

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

October 5, 2015

Josh Reddick Named A's Nominee for 2015 Hank Aaron Award

Fans Can Vote Through October 11th at MLB.com;
Award Recognizes Most Outstanding Offensive Performers in Each League

OAKLAND, **Calif.** – Major League Baseball and MLB Advanced Media announced that outfielder Josh Reddick was named the Oakland A's nominee for the 2015 Hank Aaron Award.

Fans can vote for the 2015 Hank Aaron Award exclusively online at MLB.com and the 30 Club sites. For the sixth straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball and has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999.

The Hall of Fame panel led by Aaron includes some of the greatest offensive players of all-time – Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Eddie Murray, Frank Thomas and Robin Yount. These Hall of Famers – who combined for 16,697 hits, 8,712 RBI and 2,166 home runs – have all been personally selected by Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League.

Continuing through October 11th, fans will have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2015 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2015 World Series.

Combined, the nominees have been named All-Stars 90 times, including 16 2015 All-Stars. The group also features 20 players under the age of 30 with five (Arenado, Correa, Harper, Herrera and Trout) under the age of 25. The finalists for the 2015 Hank Aaron Award are:

American League		National League	
Baltimore Orioles	Chris Davis	Arizona Diamondbacks	Paul Goldschmidt
Boston Red Sox	David Ortiz	Atlanta Braves	Freddie Freeman
Chicago White Sox	Jose Abreu	Chicago Cubs	Anthony Rizzo
Cleveland Indians	Michael Brantley	Cincinnati Reds	Joey Votto
Detroit Tigers	Miguel Cabrera	Colorado Rockies	Nolan Arenado
Houston Astros	Carlos Correa	Los Angeles Dodgers	Adrian Gonzalez
Kansas City Royals	Lorenzo Cain	Miami Marlins	Dee Gordon
LA Angels of Anaheim	Mike Trout	Milwaukee Brewers	Ryan Braun
Minnesota Twins	Brian Dozier	New York Mets	Curtis Granderson
New York Yankees	Brian McCann	Philadelphia Phillies	Odubel Herrera
Oakland Athletics	Josh Reddick	Pittsburgh Pirates	Andrew McCutchen
Seattle Mariners	Nelson Cruz	St. Louis Cardinals	Matt Carpenter
Tampa Bay Rays	Logan Forsythe	San Diego Padres	Matt Kemp
Texas Rangers	Prince Fielder	San Francisco Giants	Buster Posey
Toronto Blue Jays	Josh Donaldson	Washington Nationals	Bryce Harper

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Giancarlo Stanton and Mike Trout (2014); Miguel Cabrera and Paul Goldschmidt (2013); Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012); Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011); Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and

Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.

#

Contact: Adam Loberstein, 510-563-2248 aloberstein@athletics.com