

OAKLAND ATHLETICS

Media Release

Oakland Athletics Baseball Company • 7000 Coliseum Way • Oakland, CA 94621 510-638-4900 • www.athletics.com • @athletics

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 5, 2017

LIAM HENDRIKS NAMED OAKLAND ATHLETICS NOMINEE FOR THE 2017 ROBERTO CLEMENTE AWARD

OAKLAND, Calif. – Major League Baseball today announced that Liam Hendriks was named the Oakland Athletics 2017 nominee for the prestigious Roberto Clemente Award, the most prominent individual player award bestowed by MLB.

The Roberto Clemente Award is the annual recognition of a player from each MLB Club who best represents the game of Baseball through extraordinary character, community involvement, philanthropy and positive contributions, both on and off the field.

Each Club nominates one current player to be considered for the Roberto Clemente Award in tribute to

Clemente's achievements and character. Wednesday, Sept. 6th marks the sixteenth annual Roberto Clemente Day, which was established by Major League Baseball to honor Clemente's legacy and to officially acknowledge local Club nominees of the Roberto Clemente Award. As part of the league-wide celebration, the Roberto Clemente Day logo will appear on the bases and official dugout lineup cards and a special tribute video will be played in ballparks.



Liam is one of the 30 Club nominees for the annual award. He and his wife, Kristi, are working with Big League Impact and Striking Out Poverty with the mission of ending poverty in the Dominican Republic. The sales of a t-shirt Liam helped design and an online campaign, which currently results in a donation of more than \$500 from supporters each time Liam records a strikeout, are driving the effort. Liam also pledges \$100 per strikeout and \$200 per walk.

Liam is involved in several other charitable initiatives, including:

- The A's Youth Sports Nation "Play Ball" Tour which combines music, sports, and community to celebrate the game of baseball in Oakland schools.
- Habitat for Humanity where he helped build a playhouse at the Coliseum.
- A's Root Beer Float Day, raising funds for the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation.
- The A's Bowling Bash, which raises more than \$100,000 annually for the A's Community Fund.

- Thanksgiving in June which serves Thanksgiving-inspired meals to those in need at the St. Vincent de Paul dining room in Oakland.
- Players for Pits, a rescue committed to saving pit bulls and pit bull mix-breed dogs, as well as
 Tony La Russa's Animal Rescue Foundation (ARF), Paw Town Recue, Remember Me Thursday,
 the Petco Foundation, Athletes for Animals, and Mission K-9 Rescue.

The Roberto Clemente Award winner will be selected among the group of nominees via a blue ribbon panel that includes individuals connected to the game, including **Baseball Commissioner Robert D. Manfred, Jr.**, representatives from MLB-affiliated networks (MLB Network, FOX Sports, ESPN and TBS) and MLB Advanced Media, as well as **Vera Clemente**, the late Roberto's wife. Beginning the day after the Regular Season ends, fans can vote for the overall winner of the Roberto Clemente Award via a dedicated website. The site will feature bios of each of the nominees and will allow fans to easily vote by clicking on the respective nominee's name. The winner of the fan voting, which will run from Monday, October 2nd through Friday, October 6th, will count as one vote among those cast by the blue ribbon panel. Additional information about fan voting will be shared via MLB.com and MLB social media channels.

The concept of honoring Major League players for their philanthropic work was created in 1971 as the "Commissioner's Award." The recognition was renamed to the "Roberto Clemente Award" in 1973 in honor of the Hall of Famer and 15-time All-Star who died in a plane crash on New Year's Eve 1972 while attempting to deliver supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua. Major League Baseball has commemorated Roberto Clemente Day each September since 2002.

The distinguished list of past Roberto Clemente Award winners includes 16 members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame:

1971	Willie Mays+**	1983	Cecil Cooper	1995	Ozzie Smith+	2007	Craig Biggio+	+
1972	Brooks Robinson+**	1984	Ron Guidry	1996	Kirby Puckett+	2008	Albert Pujols	
1973	Al Kaline+	1985	Don Baylor	1997	Eric Davis	2009	Derek Jeter	
1974	Willie Stargell+	1986	Garry Maddox	1998	Sammy Sosa	2010	Tim Wakefield	
1975	Lou Brock+	1987	Rick Sutcliffe	1999	Tony Gwynn+	2011	David Ortiz	
1976	Pete Rose	1988	Dale Murphy	2000	Al Leiter	2012	Clayton Kershaw	
1977	Rod Carew+	1989	Gary Carter+	2001	Curt Schilling	2013	Carlos Beltran	
1978	Greg Luzinski	1990	Dave Stewart	2002	Jim Thome	2014	Paul Konerko *	
1979	Andre Thornton	1991	Harold Reynolds	2003	Jamie Moyer	2014	Jimmy Rollins *	
1980	Phil Niekro+	1992	Cal Ripken, Jr.+	2004	Edgar Martinez	2015	Andrew McCutchen	
1981	Steve Garvey	1993	Barry Larkin+	2005	John Smoltz+	2016	Curtis Granderson	
1982	Ken Singleton	1994	Dave Winfield+	2006	Carlos Delgado			

Member of The National Baseball Hall of Fame

-athletics.com-

Contact: Catherine Aker, 510.563.2380 caker@athletics.com

^{*} Co-winner

^{**} Originally known as the Commissioner's Award (prior to 1973)