

OAKLAND ATHLETICS MEDIA RELEASE

Oakland Athletics Baseball Company • 510-638-4900 • athletics.com • @athletics

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Nov. 4, 2018

A's Matt Chapman & Matt Olson Win Rawlings Gold Glove Award

OAKLAND, Calif. – Oakland A's infielders Matt Olson (first base) and Matt Chapman (third base) have been named 2018 Rawlings American League Gold Glove Award winners.

The A's have not had a Gold Glove winner since Josh Reddick (OF) in 2012 and have not had an infielder win the award since Eric Chavez (2006). The last A's first baseman to win the award was Mark McGwire (1990) and the club's last third baseman to win was Chavez (2006). The A's were the only team this season to feature a Rawlings Gold Glove finalist at each of the infield positions (Chapman, Olson, Semien, Lowrie).

In his first full Major League season, Chapman, 25, led all Major Leaguers regardless of position in defensive runs saved (29). He led Major League third basemen in ultimate zone rating (10.9), total chances (484), assists (331), and zone rating (.853). He was tied for first in the American League in out of zone plays (61), second in putouts and third in double plays (37). This is his first career Gold Glove.

Also in his first full Major League season, Olson, 24, led Major League first basemen in defensive runs saved (14), UZR (11.6), games (162), total chances (1494), putouts (1403) and zone rating (.913) while posting a .995 fielding percentage. This is his first career Gold Glove.

To determine winners of the Gold Glove award, each manager and up to six coaches on his staff vote from a pool of qualified players in their league and cannot vote for players from their own team. In 2013, Rawlings added a sabermetric component to the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process, as part of its collaboration with the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR). The SABR Defensive Index™ comprises approximately 25 percent of the overall selection total, with the managers and coaches' vote continuing to carry the majority.

Oakland A's Gold Glove Winners

YEAR	PLAYER	POSITION	YEAR	PLAYER	POSITIO
1974	Joe Rudi	OF	1985	Dwayne Murphy	OF
1975	Joe Rudi	OF	1985	Alfredo Griffin	SS
1976	Joe Rudi	OF	1990	Mark McGwire	1B
1980	Dwayne Murphy	OF	2001	Eric Chavez	3B
1980	Mike Norris	Р	2002	Eric Chavez	3B
1981	Dwayne Murphy	OF	2003	Eric Chavez	3B
1981	Mike Norris	Р	2004	Eric Chavez	3B
1981	Rickey Henderson	OF	2005	Eric Chavez	3B
1982	Dwayne Murphy	OF	2006	Eric Chavez	3B
1983	Dwayne Murphy	OF	2012	Josh Reddick	OF
1984	Dwayne Murphy	OF	2018	Matt Chapman	3B
			2018	Matt Olson	1B

-- Athletics.com --

Contact: Mark Ling (510) 746-4418 mling@athletics.com